History and Milestones


The Department of Civil Engineering has been one of the pioneering academic departments of the National Institute of Technology, Warangal since the inception of the institute in 1959. The Department has well qualified, experienced and motivated faculty members. The Department offers the following programmes.


  1. B.Tech
  2. M.Tech. (Construction Technology and Management)
  3. M.Tech. (Engineering Structures)
  4. M.Tech. (Environmental Engineering)
  5. M.Tech. (Geotechnical Engineering)
  6. M.Tech. (RS & GIS)
  7. M.Tech. (Transportation Engineering)
  8. M.Tech. (Water Resources Engineering)

50 percent of the undergraduate students are from the State of Andhra Pradesh and the remaining 50% are from different States. These students are selected based on AIEEE. The M.Tech students are selected based on their performance in GATE.

For administrative reasons, the Department has been divided into four divisions, depending on the specialisation, viz., Engineering Structures Division, Geotechnical Engineering Division, Transportation Division and Water & Environment Division.

QIP Centre: The Department is one of the centers recognised by the Ministry of Human Resources Development, Government of India, for the engineering college teachers to pursue their M.Tech. and Ph.D. programmes under the Quality Improvement Programme, since 1978.

Centres of Excellence: Realising the excellent work done by the Department, the following two centres of excellence have been set up in the Department.

  • Centre for Transportation Engineering
  • Centre for Water Management
  • Centre for Rural Development
  • centre for Advanced Geospacial Solutions
  • Centre for Sustainable Environmental Management

Research and Consultancy: The Department has a large number of research projects sponsored by MHRD, AICTE, UGC, CSIR, DST, MOUA, MOST, CWC, CRRI, CBIP, R&D wings of AP State Government undertakings. Many public sector undertakings like NTPC, RITES, Singareni Collieries etc. and private companies like Gammon India Ltd.,., L&T etc. consult the Department for technical advice. The Department takes pride in contributing the major share of funds raised through the ICC of the institute. The Department has also excellent rapport with various State government Departments like I&CAD, Public Health, Pollution Control Board, R&B, Groundwater, PR and Central Government bodies like MORTH, BIS, Ministry of Urban Affairs, Ministry of Water Resources, Ministry of Rural Development and several municipal bodies and UDAs.

Continuing Education, Workshops and Seminars: The Department has taken leading role in organising a number of continuing education programmes for the field engineers and teachers of engineering colleges. A number of Seminars and conferences also has been successfully organised by the Department to provide a platform for academicians and engineers to share and update their knowledge.


1959 B.Tech. (Civil Engineering) was started with an intake of 50 students
1964 M.Tech. (Soil Mechanics & Foundation Engineering) was started
1964 M.Tech. (Hydraulic Engineering) was started
1967 M.Tech. (Structural Engineering) was started
1968 M.Tech. (Transportation Engineering) was started
1978 B.Tech. (Civil Engineering) (For Diploma Holders (FDH)) was started with an intake of 40 students
1978 Recognised as Quality Improvement Programme (QIP) Centre for M.Tech. and  Ph.D. .
1996 Graded as A+  for both U.G and P.G Courses by NBA
2000 M.Tech. Remote Sensing and Geographic Information System
2003 B.Tech. (Civil Engineering) (FDH) was closed
2005 M.Tech (Environmental Engineering) was started
2008 M.Tech (Construction Technology & Management) was started