Design Engineering


Design Engineering Section is one of the active divisions of Mechanical Engineering Department, with a focussed vision to promote Academic, Research, and Industrial Consulting activities. It has a total of ten faculty members. Their research areas include: Engineering Design and Rapid Prototyping; Bio-CAD and Bio Additive Fabrication, Geometric modelling, CAD, Isogeometric Analysis, Optimization and Robotics; Engineering Analysis and FEA; Vibration Analysis and Control; Condition Monitoring and Rotor Dynamics; Structural Health Monitoring; Tribology, Composite Materials; Piezoelectric Energy Harvesting, Micro Air Vehicles etc.

List of Faculty Members:

Prof. R V Chalam

Prof. P Bangaru Babu (Head, Design Engineering Section)

Dr. R Narasimha Rao

Dr. V Suresh Babu

Dr. Srikanth Korla

Dr. Harikumar Voruganti

Dr. B Satish Ben

Dr. Syed Ismail

Mr. G. Raghavendra

List of Laboratories:

1. Machine Dynamics Laboratory (In-charge: Prof. RV Chalam)

2. Product Design and Development (In-Charge: Dr. Srikanth Korla)

3. Tribology Laboratory (In-Charge: Dr. Syed Ismail)

4. Computational Research Laboratory (In-Charge: Dr. Hari Kumar Voruganti)

Academic Programme:

M. Tech. in Mechine Design (Coordinator: Dr. V. Suresh Babu)