Welcome To Electrical Engineering Department

The Department of Electrical Engineering is one of the oldest departments of the National Institute of Technology, Warangal (NITW). Established as one of the major departments of the Institute, since its inception in 1959, the Department of Electrical Engineering has been actively engaged in teaching and research in diverse fields of Electrical Engineering. With excellent faculty, the Department of Electrical Engineering offers undergraduate (B.Tech) and graduate (M.Tech) in Power Electronics & Drives and Power Systems and research (Ph.D) programmes.

The Department is strong with most of faculty members holding PhD degrees and expertise in various fields. The broad areas of expertise include State Estimation and Real Time Control of Power Systems, Applications of ANN and Fuzzy Logic in Power Systems, Power System Deregulation, Power System Transients, Power Quality, EMTP applications in Power Systems, Relay Coordination, Application of Power Electronics to Power Quality Improvement and Industrial Drives, DSP controlled Drives, Simulation of Power Electronic Converters and Drives Systems and Control of Special Machines

The Department has strong Industry interaction and has been involved in constantly handling various consultancy projects for various Industries and Government of Andhra Pradesh.  Department has an MOU with Central Power Research Institute(CPRI) to carry out the collaborative projects.